Royal Opera House: Dances at a Gathering/The Cellist

Royal Opera House: Dances at a Gathering/The Cellist


Royal Ballet 201920 Season Marston Double Bill

Two dance pieces by Cathy Marston highlight the fluid brilliance of the choreographer, and former Director of Bern Ballet’s inimitable style.

Dances at a Gathering, employing the piano music of Fryderyk Chopin, is a dance for five couples created by Jerome Robbins. The Cellist, devised by Marston with Edward Kemp, with music by Philip Feeney, is a moving portrait of the turbulent life and extraordinary career of legendary cellist Jacqueline du Pré. It’s the former Associate Artist of the Royal Opera House’s first original commission for the main stage.

The two pieces highlight Marston’s dexterity and range. It also features sublime performances by the dancers. The piano performance in the first is by Robert Clark, while the cello music in the second piece is performed by Hetty Snell

Directed by
Runtime 65 Minutes
Release date 29 July 2022
  • Certification: 12